Getting behind the wheel without car insurance is one of the riskiest things you can do. If you’re in an accident or get a traffic violation, you could be held liable for damages, plus you’ll have to pay the court fees involved with your citation.
But what happens when you must drive without car insurance? You can be fined up to an additional $1000 on top of the base penalty.
Texas residents with suspended licenses may be required to carry an SR22 form. If you’ve been wondering, “What is SR22 Insurance texas?” this guide will answer all your questions.
1. What Is SR22 Insurance?
An SR22 is a certification of financial responsibility usually required for drivers who have been caught driving without insurance or have been convicted of a DUI. The SR22 is filed by your insurance company and sent to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles. The purpose of the SR22 is to make sure you keep your insurance coverage and can prove it to the state.
If you’re caught driving without insurance in Texas, you’ll be required to get an SR22. If you’re required to have an SR22, you’ll need to maintain your insurance coverage for a set period of time, usually two to three years. If your coverage lapses, your insurance company will notify the state, which could lead to the suspension of your driver’s license.
2. Why Is It Required in Texas?
An SR-22 insurance policy is a special type of insurance that is often required by the state for high-risk drivers. SR-22 insurance is not a specific insurance company, but rather an insurance filing.
An SR-22 filing is a certificate issued by your car insurance company to show that you are carrying the minimum amount of car insurance required by your state. If you are required to have an SR-22, you will be notified by the court or your state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
3. How Do I Get SR22 Insurance?
SR22 insurance must be kept current for at least three years. Your right to drive will be revoked if you drive without insurance or if your policy expires. Your driver’s license will be reissued with an “SR” classification, and the Texas Department of Public Safety will be notified.
The SR22 form needs to be submitted to the DPS by your insurance provider. Before your license will be reactivated, the form needs to be on file. Your license cannot be reinstated until the SR22 insurance in texas is active.
4. How Much Does It Cost?
In Texas, affordable SR22 insurance typically costs between $30 and $90 per month. However, the exact amount you’ll pay depends on a variety of factors, including your driving record, the insurance company you use, and the level of coverage you purchase. To get more info on the best rate on SR22 insurance in Texas, be sure to shop around and compare quotes from multiple insurers.
Apply Now for Your SR22 Insurance Texas Now
You should know about SR22 insurance in Texas if you are required to file an SR-22 in order to have your license reinstated after a DUI conviction. If you are required to file an SR-22, you will need to purchase a policy from an insurance company that offers SR-22 insurance.
It is important to shop around for the best rates because there can be a big difference between companies. Be sure to check with your insurance company to see if they offer SR22 insurance.
If you found this article helpful and want to learn more about automobile insurance or other useful topics, follow our blog to stay in the loop.